New chairman for Stroud District Council

Cllr Mark Rees was elected as chairman of Stroud District Council at its AGM on Thursday last week (6906002)

Cllr Mark Rees was elected as chairman of Stroud District Council at its AGM on Thursday last week (6906002)

First published in News
Last updated

A NEW chairman has been elected for Stroud District Council.

Labour’s Cllr Mark Rees was vice chairman in the council’s last term but has been appointed to take over the top job from retiring Cam Cllr Dennis Andrewartha (Lib Dem).

Cllr Rees, who represents Cainscross in Stroud, said he took the role with “great pride” at the council’s AGM on Thursday, June 5.

“I promise to have integrity and be balanced in this chamber, making sure everyone has a fair say and a fair hearing in this council.”

Cllr Tom Williams (Lab, Cainscross) was elected to be the vice chairman, who will conduct meetings in Cllr Rees’ absence.

Chairmen and women were also appointed to the council’s committees, with many remaining unchanged.

Leader of Stroud District Council and Dursley Cllr Geoff Wheeler stays as chairman of the Strategy and Resources Committee, which looks at what capital projects the council should spending its money on in the future.

Cllr Steve Lydon (Lab, The Stanleys) will be vice chairman.

Development Control Committee, which considers large and contentious planning applications, will have Cllr Ken Stephens (Lab, Eastington and Standish) remain as chairman, with Cllr John Marjoram (Green, Trinity) as vice chairman.

Cllr Simon Pickering (Green, Slade) will stay as chairman of the Environment Committee, with Cllr Paul Smith (Lib Dem, Wotton) as vice chairman.

Cllr Chris Brine (Lab, Stonehouse) was elected chairman of the Community Services Committee and Cllr Karon Cross (Lab, Cainscross) was chosen as vice chairwoman.

Chairwoman of the Housing Committee, Cllr Mattie Ross (Lab, Stonehouse) remains in her post, with Dursley Cllr Doina Cornell (Lab) elected as vice chairwoman.

The committee will be in charge of delivering on the council’s plans to build the first ever council homes in a generation.

Heading the Audit and Standards Committee will be Conservative No group Cllr Nigel Studdert-Kennedy (The Stanleys) after being elected by the majority of the council.

Cllr Williams will be vice chairman on the committee which aims to scrutinise the council’s decisions and performance over the course of the next year.

While proposing councillors for every post, the Conservatives were unable to have any of their nominations appointed as the rainbow alliance of Labour, Liberal Democrats and Greens chose candidates from their side of the political spectrum.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree