A MAN from Yate has been recognised for his volunteering efforts by South Gloucestershire Council.

62-year-old James Wiltshire was awarded a community award for his work with charity Shopmobility, who provide scooters and wheelchairs for people with limited mobility, as a part of the South Gloucestershire Council Chair’s Awards 2017.

Alongside thirty other volunteers, James, who has a disability himself, was applauded at a special ceremony held on Thursday, March 16 at South Gloucestershire and Stroud College’s WISE Campus.

The annual awards recognise the efforts of volunteer heroes, including James, and thank them for their valuable contributions across South Gloucestershire.

Shopmobility’s Vice Chairman David Bell said: “We are absolutely delighted to be celebrating James’ well deserved success in winning this award.

“His efforts are greatly appreciated by all involved in our scheme and its many users.”

James was submitted for the award by Shopmobility Chair Councillor Janet Biggin and scheme worker Sheridan Crew, who wanted to him to be acknowledged for his hard work at Shopmobility.

They explained that James has worked at the service for over five years and covers at least one full day a week.

They said: “He is always reliable and able to assist in any way he can, contributing ideas to improve the service and offering advice and support to people on many aspects of their disabilities.”

Chair of South Gloucestershire Council Erica Williams presented the award to James, and said that she has been “consistently amazed and inspired” by the efforts of all of the volunteers.

She added: “These awards are a small way of recognising the effort and tireless service which volunteers provide for their local communities, and to say thank you to just some of them for continuing to make South Gloucestershire a great place to live and work.

“Choosing from the nominations for this event has been a heart-warming and yet difficult task.

All the nominees were clearly highly respected and admired for their commitment and hard work.”

Other award winners on the night included Diya Barot and George Beaven, who were recognised for their valued services as mentors and anti-hate crime ambassadors in South Gloucestershire.


Community Awards

Andrew Edgington, Andy Ward, Ann Watts, Barry White, Christopher Jordan, David Bell, David Woodey, Graham Darby, James Wiltshire, Mary Davies, Maureen Jackson, Pauline Wilson, Robert Umfreville, Ruth Kitson, Jamie Pike, Jessica Harrison, Kate Sweet, Susan Hiscox, William Lee

Long Service Community Awards

Alan Maggs, Anne Moulsdale, Tony Moulsdale, Brian Hewitt M.B.E, Bryan Quinlan, Margaret Bracey, Roger Fowler, Sheila Butler

Young Persons Community Awards

Diya Barot, George Beaven, Jade Matthews, Jazmin Howell

Group Awards

Men in Sheds, Freewheelers Emergency Voluntary Service, Kingswood Community Transport, South Gloucestershire Breastfeeding Peer Support Group, Wapley Bushes Conservation Group

Lord Lieutenant’s Award

Diya Barot and George Beaven