LIAM Pemberton has been appointed as the new first team captain of Thornbury.

At the club's May AGM, Pemberton was elected to succeed Wayne Underwood and will lead the team in its 52nd season.

Nick Balman stepped down after three seasons as second team captain and was succeeded by Steve Allington, who was also seconds captain in 2008/09. Richard Daniell takes over the reins of the thirds from Adam Weaver, who completed five seasons in charge but missed most of the last season with injury.

There was little change to the remainder of the committee with Jon Day stepping down, but Quent Jackson has taken over from Dave Bird as chairman of the junior section.

Former Wales captain Gareth Llewellyn remains head coach, ably supported by player-coach Rob Higgitt.

The Colts players are enjoying touch rugby at the Chantry on Wednesday evenings, and new players are encouraged to come along from 7pm to 8pm.

Thornbury have arranged a pre-season game with Devizes at home on Saturday, August 30.