COMPETITION was fierce at the Wotton and District Primary Schools Athletics event.

The track event at Katharine Lady Berkeley's School was held on a new location on the school field and was ably assisted by KLB Year 10 sports leaders.

The competition was run in two parts between the small schools and the large schools.

To maximise participation the larger schools were allowed to bring two competitors for each event. This meant in the 42 races that were run six competitors entered for each race.

In the small schools event Kingswood led the way with eight victories with North Nibley claiming six wins, Stone and Hawkesbury two apiece and Hillesley and Horton both having one triumph.

Blue Coat won ten of the large school events, with Alexander Hosea victorious in nine and British in three.

Alexander Hosea did exceptionally well in the mixed sack race, winning the Year 3, 4 and 6 mixed events, while they also won both the girls and boys 60m races and repeated that success in Year 4.

The distance to run increased for the Year 5 and 6 pupils to 70m, where Blue Coat took the honour of first place from Alexander Hosea in both the boys and girls races.

The climax of the competition was the mixed relay event, where teams consisted of two boys and two girls.

In the small schools competition North Nibley won the Year 3 and 4 relay and Kingswood won the Year 5 and 6 relay.

The honours were shared between the three large schools competing in the relay.

The Years 3 and 5 races were both won by Blue Coat.

Alexander Hosea won the Year 4 race and the British School were crowned champions of the Year 6 race.

The skipping race and 400m were the other events.

Eight primary schools took part in the field athletics competition at North Nibley School.

This consisted of four disciplines – the vertical jump, accuracy throw, where competitors had to throw bean bags into hoops placed two, four and six metres away, the distance throw, which involved throw a cricket wind ball as far as possible, and the standing broad jump.

All competitors were a credit to their individual schools.

Hillesley, Blue Coat, British, Stone, North Nibley, Kingswood and Horton all won an event each.