Oli Mott wins Sodbury Slog

First published in Thornbury Sport

OLI MOTT stormed to victory in the Sodbury Slog on Sunday.

The Bristol University runner triumphed in a time of 56:48, finishing over two minutes faster than runner-up James Bingham of Tewkesbury AC in 59:07 on the notoriously muddy course through Sodbury common and nearby farmland.

Steve Mitchell and Steve Francis both finished just one second further behind as Bristol University had three of the top four runners in the race organised by Bitton Road Runners, which saw a record 1,040 finishers.

Thornbury Running Club’s Rob Cowlard produced a superb run, finishing slightly further back in fifth place in 1:01:42 – over two minutes quicker than his 2011 time and nine places higher in worse ground conditions.

Another Thornbury runner, Clare Watt, won the LV50 category in 1:22:59, (257th), despite doing little racing in recent months and having raced the previous day.

Also running for the club were Slog addicts Nigel Hale (577th,1:39:05), Sue Taylor (604th, 1:40:37) and Judy Mills (653rd, 1:43:29).

Shane Toogood was the first Hogweed Trotter home in 1:10:22, just holding off James Tyack in 1:10:28.

Other Hogweed results – under 1:15: Bruce Sellers, Nigel Burford, Craig Pritchard, Jason Bidwell, Mark Clements Dave Stott.

Under 1:20: Gary Weeks, Rich Powell, Alan Wilcox, Rich King, Stuart Bennett, Ray Maddock, Ian Rowland.

Under 1:30: Anthony Febry, Laura Buet, Rebecca Febry, Pat Curtis.

Under 1:40: Ian Freestone, Lesley Gavin, Andy Trew, Sean Palmer, Lorraine McMullen, Zoe Harley, Nicola & Neil Paice, John Curtis, Hayley Brock.

Under 1.50: Sandra Killen, Paul Chard, Paul Buckley, Robert Smith, Darhyl Davies, Andrew Russell, Martin Cook, Ben Bonnick, Clare Williams, Ruth Stewart, Kim freestone, John Vrublevskis, Annabelle Pugh, Robert Ford.

Under two hours: Ronan Conlon, Emma French, Wendy Dorney and Barbera Denton.

Other finishers: Anne Draper, Michelle Hodges, Julie Boynes, Jaide Toogood, Ruth Medcroft, Kate Hoskins, Michelle Edgell, Bob Bell, Dave Morgan, Shelley Armorgie, Sue Hammond, Mark Hill.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree