THORNBURY Red have won the Bristol Youth Cricket League Colin Mitchell under-17 League Championship title after beating Bristol by nine wickets in the final at Frenchay.

The game was rained off the previous weekend, which made a massive impact on team selection as so many players were away and even coach John Wormwell couldn’t attend.

Thornbury opened the bowling with Josh Morris and Stuart McWhinnie.

It wasn’t long before McWhinnie took the first scalp and Bristol were 3-1.

Bristol started to build an innings but it wasn’t after they reached 50 that the next wicket fell with a catch by McWhinnie off Jack Gillett’s spin bowling.

Bristol started to accelerate more and at 75, Gillett got another cleaned bowled.

From then Bristol didn’t have the depth and with William Comley coming off medium pace and just bowling straight balls it wasn’t long before he was rewarded with a great catch from Gillett.

Jordan Hicks picked up a wicket in his first over, a catch being taken on the boundary by Morris.

Bristol were 94-5 off 15 overs and the tail didn’t put up much of a fight.

With lightning gloves, Sam Summerfield behind the stumps got a run out with confusion from the batsmen.

Dan Lezar, bowling spin, and Hicks, with pace at the other end, both picked up a pair to bowl Bristol all out for 106.

McWhinnie and player of the match Lezar got Thornbury's chase off to a flyer.

Runs came easily with Lezar smashing it and great running by McWhinnie to bring up 50 after seven overs.

McWhinnie finally went for one big shot too many and was bowled allowing Sam Summerfield to come to the crease.

These two batsman dominated Bristol with a batting masterclass and when Summerfield hit a pair of sixes in one over Bristol knew they were beaten.

Lezar finished up with 59 and Summerfield a quick-fire 23 off ten ballsas Thornbury reached the target in the 11th over.

* Thornbury under-15s suffered a nine-wicket defeat against Bedminster in the Joe Roden under-15 League Championship final at Frenchay.

Player of the match George Drissell took 6-8 as Thornbury were bowled out for 61.

Sam Williams won the achievement award after taking 1-19 for Thornbury but couldn't prevent Bedminster reaching their target comfortably.