Time is running out to register to vote in the upcoming local elections.

Elections to South Gloucestershire Council are taking place on May 2 and you must be on the electoral roll before April 12 in order to take part.

The full council election will determine the political make-up of the council.

As it stands, the Conservatives have an overall majority. The party won 40 of the 70 seats in the election in 2015, becoming the first to hold a majority since the unitary authority was created. The Lib Dems won 16 seats with Labour winning 14.

There are set to be a number of changes from May.

Two dozen councillors have announced they are not standing for re-election, and changes to ward boundaries have reduced the number of seats available from 70 down to 61.

The boundary changes have also resulted in the disappearance of new wards and the creation of new ones.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on May 2.

Counting will take place overnight, with the results likely to be announced early in the morning of May 3.

Town and parish council elections will also be held, with counts carried out from May 3, and the results announced later that day.

To register to vote go to gov.uk/register-to-vote.

If you are unable to get to your local polling station on election day, you can apply for a postal vote or appoint someone to vote on your behalf.

All postal vote applications must be received by 5pm on Monday, April 15

The deadline for proxy voting applications is Wednesday, April 24. Emergency proxy vote applications must be made by 5pm at the latest on May 2.

South Gloucestershire Council’s returning officer, John McCormack, said: “I would urge all residents over 18 to log on to check their eligibility and make sure you can have your say in the upcoming elections.

"It only takes five minutes and your vote will help shape the council for the next four years.

“These elections will determine who will be your voice and so it is really important that you take part and make yourself heard.”

More information on the elections can be found here.