TWO Liberal Democrat councillors have been re-elected for Thornbury, and joined by a fellow party member in the new single ward.

Councillors Maggie Tyrrell and Shirley Holloway were re-elected to South Gloucestershire Council last Thursday, and fellow Lib Dem Jayne Stansfield was also voted in for the new three-councillor Thornbury ward, as Thornbury North and Thornbury South wards became one.

Cllr Tyrrell said: “It’s a privilege to be part of a town with such a strong sense of community and I’ll do all I can to preserve that. We know the facilities and infrastructure in the town need improving.”

Cllr Holloway added: “I shall continue to strive with my Liberal Democrat colleagues, to achieve the very best for the people of Thornbury.

“I will oppose vigorously the development of Buckover Garden village of 3,000 houses. The funding of schools is a considerable issue as is the lack of car parking spaces and congestion on many of our roads.”

Cllr Stansfield said: “I am looking forward to the challenge. Health facilities, school funding. affordable housing that enables families to stay in Thornbury are all priorities.”

Thornbury Town Council is also still controlled by the Liberal Democrats.

Elections were held in the Central, North East and North West wards, with no councillors who stood for re-election losing their seats.

Councillors Bob Griffin, Clare Fardell and Benj Emmerson were reelected in the Central ward, while Shirley Holloway, Helen Harrison and Guy Rawlinson kept their seats in the North West.

The one new face on the council is Cllr Ashley Bijster who was elected alongside fellow Lib Dems and current councillors Jayne Stansfield, Matthew Stringer and Pam Shipp.