WHILE the Liberal Democrats had a disappointing result in the General Election, in the Stroud district elections the party managed to turn the tables and become joint opposition party alongside Labour.

In an election where most seats stayed the same the Lib Dems managed to pick up two new seats. Brian Marsh took the seat in Dursley from former Conservative candidate Dr Timothy Frankau and in Wotton-under-Edge new Lib Dem candidate Alan O'Connor took the seat from Conservative Chris Routledge who stood down this year.

This leaves the council with a political make-up of 30 Conservatives, seven Labour, seven Lib Dem, six Greens and one independent.


Candidate elected with star next to their name.


Gordon Craig (Conservative) 1,281* Jaswant Gangotra (Labour) 800 John Greenwood (Labour) 790 John Stanton (Conservative)1,253*

Cam East

Miranda Clifton (Labour) 858 John Hudson (Conservative) 942* Darren Jones (Liberal Democrats) 586 Indigo Redfern (Green Party) 73

Cam West

Dennis Andrewartha (Liberal Democrat) 1,068* Josephine Colebrook (Labour) 604 Jeffrey Tyndall (Conservative) 662

Uley and Coaley

Tricia Leonard (Labour) 665 Graham Trave (Conservative) 844*


Timothy Frankau (Conservative) 1,120 Brian Marsh (Liberal Democrats) 1,136* Geoffrey Wheeler (Labour) 1,026 Miriam Yagud (Green Party) 163


John Howe (Liberal Democrats) 825 John Jones (Conservative) 1,511* Lesley Williams (Labour) 507


Hilary Fowles (Labour) 242 Penelope Wride (Conservative) 892*


David Barker (Green Party) 466 Nick McGarvey (Conservative) 1,221 Alan O’Connor (Liberal Democrat) 2,053*